VW gears up underserved segment

Every now and then I come across some really great advertising and when I do I try to make a point of calling it out. Though usually just post it on Facebook, occasionally I may also blog about it. This is one of those times.

Volkswagen has over the last several months put out a handful of really good commercials, a couple in particular that I would say are great. That said, before I make my case, I’ll let you decide for yourself.

OK – so here’s why I think these stand out in particular…

VW tells a compelling story in under a minute. And it’s a story that resonates with a generation of parents across the nation. StarWars, yeah we get that. Heck, that particular commercial could have been filmed in my house, it was so close to home (minus the VW in the driveway). And the parental fear of a kid sneaking off with the car… again, we get that. But they told it without the tired father-son speech about someday this car will be his, blah blah blah.

Besides a great story, and perhaps more importantly, VW demonstrates a clear understanding of their target segment and show cases the brand in a context meaningful to that segment. Affluent suburbanites, Gen-Xers with kids, above average tech savvy, who want functionality as well as aesthetics.

VW doesn’t try to go after BMW here or any other “performance” brand. I mean, it is German engineered and no one would have been surprised nor faulted them if they had. But the car never even leaves the driveway!!! Much less fly around some curvy hillside with the disclaimer of “professional driver, closed course”. Instead, there was a clear focus on NOT being BMW. VW is “your” car… you, the hard working, white collar, family-values parent that clearly has a desire for something above average, but without being extravagant or superfluous.

I love what VW has done. Some might perceive this as a risky route. They’re not talking performance (BMW), they’re not talking safety (Volvo), they’re certainly not competing at the entry level value segment (Hyundai). And yet, I’d argue they’ve captured a valuable segment, one that has long been overlooked.

Well done, VW. Das marketing.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Hnr on November 3, 2011 - 12:05 pm

    Hi, first of all I’d like to say that your analysis of the last VW commercials is very interesting. Actually I’m working on an analysis of VW(especially golf) marketing for school and I’ve just found your article. But my question is : Do you think that VW has a particular costumer target? Because you’re saying suburbs family and so on but this is only for the passat right? Personally I think that VW range is so wide that a single target could not exist(just my opinion, could be wrong). So maybe you could share with me your opinion (and of course you’ll be named in the source).
    Greets from Belgium!

Leave a Reply

