Marketing strategy is more than just content

Not a day goes by when I don’t think about content. I think about keeping it fresh, keeping it provocative, keeping it engaging. And most marketers would agree… content drives a lot of behavior. But its about more than just creating good content, it’s what am I doing with that content.

While I admit that the web takes care of a lot of that thinking for us…the view that if I blog it, tweet it or post it they will come is just plain wrong. There’s more to an effective marketing strategy than that. The web is an abyss of data and depending on your specific field, breaking through the clutter without a strategy is like swimming in the dark – eventually you’ll lose sight of which way is up and which way is down. 

Have you searched for anything lately? If you’re in the healthcare industry (like me) you probably talk about reform. There are 4,494 pages with “healthcare reform” in the anchor and title.  So I say again, marketing strategy is more than just content.

Here are three things to consider when producing content…

1) Visibility – Does my content allow customers to see my product/service/solution in action. Does it communicate results? Are there testimonials? Is there a demo? Something about my content has to highlight the value I’m delivering.

2) Accessibility – Can my customers arrive at this content without a huge sacrifice in time and resources. For many of our customers, a simple web search is not feasible. If you’re in healthcare reform, you can’t start blogging tomorrow and poof find yourself with customers next month. And paid search you say might to some degree solve that problem, but do you want to pay for it? What’s more only 40% of web searches actually result in a paid search click…and finally, it would be naïve to think all your customers are on the web looking for you! 

3) Relevancy – And when my customers do get to my content, does it provide data / insights relevant to their needs and considerations. I recently clicked on a tweet promoting some news at a certain organization (that will remain nameless) but when I clicked, it didn’t take me straight to the story…it took me to the promotional part of their site, and from their I had to scroll down to find the article.

Well…I didn’t look for the article. I closed the window and ceased following that organization. The link was not relevant to what I was searching for, and the end content that I was looking for was not easily accessible.

So content may be king, but their has to be a kingdom in order for their to be a king. And that kingdom has to be visible, accessible and relevant.

,

  1. #1 by Raj on January 18, 2010 - 9:42 am

    To which i would add: Engagement. It is not enough anymore to attract eyeballs. You have to offer something that helps your audience build a relationship. So far, that means offering toys for an audience to play with — social media, video, photo sharing. But that could extend to other types of tools. In health care, I would be far more likely to stay on a site that offers a way for me to, say, build a diet/weight loss/exercise plan that meet my needs with an interactive tool of some sort. People don’t just need relevant information — they need guidance.

    • #2 by Kris on January 18, 2010 - 9:47 am

      GREAT point Raj. Thanks for offering that up. In addition to being relevant, there has to be an entertainment / interactive / value-add experience that delights customers and keeps them engaged.

  1. The Future of Online Marketing: Engagement over Eyeballs | Brightbend | Movement Marketing

Leave a Reply

